thanks for posting that Twosolitudes (aka Rob). That's an interesting excercise, and now you make me want to pull out the rules and see if I can validate their math. Though to be honest, my focus has mostly been on the other side, figuring how to get all that stuff from Tripolitania to Tobruk down the Via Balba.
Mike I look at this a little differently. If you asking about the three units being detached at one time - then the 1 CPA cost appplies. But if one is detached, then the parent unit moves, then another is detached, etc. Then the cost would seem to be 1 per detachment action.
[54.19] The following rules help to prevent a proliferation of numerous stockpiles by simulating wastage and capture. At the end of the supply distribution segment, all mini dumps stockpiles in hexes not occupied by a land combat unit of at least one TOE point, are subject to wastage based on what would be the CP cost of moving a motorised unit from the dump stockpile to the nearest supply dump, as follows. If the distance is more than 30 CPs, all supplies in the stockpile are lost, otherwise a single six sided die is rolled for each type of supply present. Add 2 to the roll if the newest nearest dump is up to 10 CPs away. The modified die roll X×10 (rounded down) is the percentage of that type of supply that may be added to the nearest dump. Any supplies over and above the capacity of the nearest receiving dump our are lost. Players may choose freely between a distant dump or to eliminateing the whole stockpile instead. Should an opposing combat unit comprising at least one TOE point pass through a hex containing a mini dump stockpile, the dump stockpile is eliminated. Supplies may be recovered first in accordance with [50.16] and [51.16], providing the first unit to pass through has sufficient overall capacity and expends the necessary CP is to load the supplies.
IIRC it's the green bit that exercised me. Here's what I hope to be a clear, watertight version, with the additional merit of being 40% shorter!
[12.32] Non-Italian artillery may combine strengths from several hexes to barrage an adjacent target if the artillery is placed Forward(see [12.13] & [12.14]). Otherwise, artillery may conduct separate Barrages, providing a hex Is not Barraged more than once from any single hex within the same Combat Segment.
Now if only that sort of saving in wordage could be applied to the entire rules...
How about this?
[12.32] Non-Italian artillery may combine strengths from several hexes to barrage an adjacent target if the artillery is placed Forward(see [12.13] & [12.14]). Otherwise, artillery may conduct separate Barrages, providing a target is not Barraged more than once from any single adjacent hex within the same Combat Segment.
One problem. A hex may be barraged more than once from an adjacent hex. That sentence from the original rules that I kept makes it clear that a single target may not be attacked more than once from a single adjacent hex.
[12.32] Artillery units in multiple hexes may not combine strengths to Barrage adjacent enemy units during a Combat Segment, unless all such artillery units are placed Forward (see [12.13]) for that combat. Italian artillery is prohibited from doing so even if Forward (see [12.14]). Artillery placed Back may still separately conduct multiple Barrages against enemy units in the target hex within the same Combat Segment. No target may be barraged more than once in a Combat Segment from each adjacent enemy occupied hex.
Per Tony's comment, I agree that there's something missing. The last sentence was left in from the original rule as it further restricts bombardment.
The above, as adjusted was included in the v1.3 draft.