Hi all, first post and a question Jan 7, 2019 12:24:56 GMT
Post by blu3wolf on Jan 7, 2019 12:24:56 GMT
Hi all! Ive created an account here as Im interested in CNA. I dont own a copy as yet, and I dont know how Id find time to sink into this endeavor. I guess this is a step in the direction of finding other people crazy enough to consider it, though. Which I confess, that was the obstacle Id formerly considered most insurmountable.
Ive been reading through the rules here, and the errata here, and trying to get a handle on the processes involved - particularly for the Combat Segment. In particular, I've found a few things to puzzle over. Case 12.32 seems ambiguously worded, and Ive currently got two interpretations - Im not sure which is correct. One seems more 'correct' in terms of the wording, but that one also seems more convoluted and less 'sensible' to me.
Case 12.32 is reproduced below:
The two differing interpretations hinge on the word, 'each'. The simpler interpretation would replace that word with the word, 'any' to remove any ambiguity. In that case, there could be only one Barrage against any given Target in a given Combat Segment. Multiple units placed Back in different hexes could not strike the same Target.
No target may be barraged more than once in a Combat Segment from each adjacent enemy occupied hex. Of course, Artillery units in a Forward position may combine Barrage strengths in one Barrage against a given Target.
The more directly read interpretation, that each firing hex may barrage a target once and once only, has some minor concerns with it. For one, there could be up to 6 Barrages against any given Target in a given Combat Segment, by 6 different gun units placed Back (all in different firing hexes). For another, Case 12.14 would have no reason to exist:
Unless Im missing something (and with 192 pages of rules, thats entirely possible), it seems like there is not much point to that restriction, if units outside their hex can make their own, separate Barrage? The rule would not prevent units from Barraging, unless Case 12.32 prevented multiple Barrages against the same Target.
Italian units in a Forward position may coordinate Barrage fire only with units within the same hex.
I gather there are folks here that have actually played out Combat Segments, as I, have not. Id love to hear how you've played the game, and whether you have viewed Case 12.32 as preventing, or allowing, multiple Barrages from adjacent hexes against a given Target. I suppose, reviewing the errata, that it would hardly be the first error in wording the rulebook.